Shock Circuit v1.0 @ Annexe Gallery, KL – 8/10/2011

This was a very different show for me. It was the first time I’d ever been to a “Chinese” event before. That is, the MC spoke completely in Chinese (Cantonese, I think), the little booklet which described all the bands was printed in Chinese – except for words such as “dream-pop”, “IDM”, “electronica” and “Musical Style” which must not have any Chinese equivalent – and most of the people attending, if not everyone else except me, were Chinese. I don’t understand a word of any Chinese language (except for certain food words, words that mean “whitey” and words to insult people) I didn’t really know what was going on at times. I kind of had to guess which band was which, I hope I got them right.

Like Silver
11 min 37 sec / 15.9 MB / 192kbps MP3
I’d seen and recorded Like Silver so I was surprised to see about six people walk onto a stage full of instruments – the last time I saw them, it was just three people with a laptop and some microphones. This time they had drums, guitar, bass, keyboards and various electronic gadgets.

Kokkamango 迷幻雪芒果
10 min 30 sec / 14.4 MB / 192kbps MP3
I can’t remember much of this band. I think I remember some synth sounds that I thought were really annoying. Like vocal synths. Their Facebook says they are an “Electropop/Indiepop/Dreampop” band which sounds like some shit I’d read about in Juice Magazine.

Flica
25 min 44 sec / 35.3 MB / 192kbps MP3
Flica is another artist that I’d seen before but was doing something different this time around. Usually he plays his guitar through his laptop, creating some kind of guitar-based ambient stuff with some electronic beats. This time though, he was using a laptop and a midi controller. Still making ambient kind of music but I felt his beats were much better, complex and interesting and his melodies were nice too.

Naph
13 min 04 sec / 17.9 MB / 192kbps MP3
Naph sounds like someone sitting in their bedroom with a guitar and some pedals, trying to jam along to a dub backing track. But Naph’s bedroom is thousands of kilometres away and unlike some guitarists who play along to backing loops such as Polyfox & the Union of the Most Ghosts, Naph just sounded kind of boring.

Okamotonoriaki
12 min 23 sec / 17 MB / 192kbps MP3
I also don’t really remember much of this band as well. Listening to the recording, there’s some nice beats and nice melodies. I guess they’d call it indiepop or electropop or some shit like that too.

Evade
25 min 56 sec / 35.6 MB / 192kbps MP3
In the booklet, the only words I understood about Evade were “Macau”, “dream-pop” and “Sonia”. So, Evade are a band from Macau. I don’t know who Sonia is. I also don’t really know what “dream-pop” is but Evade seem to be a lot better than those two words put next to each other, hyphenated. Evade were my favourite band of the day. Vocals, guitars, laptops. The guitar and vocal styles of Grouper and Fort Wayne, some trip hop and dubstep, plus some moments of noise and breakcore. This mix that was pretty, brutal, and made me want to dance. I wish this recording could really capture how great this band is. Maybe check out some better recordings on youtube instead.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

