Rotasi Off the Air @ Rolling Stone Cafe, Jakarta – 30/11/2011

I went to Rolling Stone Cafe to watch a free gig. I didn’t know who was playing, but I heard L’Alphalpha were a post-rock band so the “free + post-rock” side of the equation was enough to get me there. I also learnt that Indonesians get into that stupid fake French name shit just like Malaysians do.

Vuje
9 min 3 sec / 12.4 MB / 192kbps MP3
They were ok. Not amazing. But not shit. I can’t be bothered trying to find words to describe them. Just listen lah.

Stars & Rabbit
25 min 32 sec / 35 MB / 192kbps MP3
Stars & Rabbit are from Yogyakarta and they were amazing to watch. The singer had so much energy and at times did some mad vocal wailing a la Delores O’Riordan and/or Joanna Newsom. At least that’s how it was to my ears. My friend said she thought she sounded more like Bjork. But no one is as good as Bjork.

D’Zeek
7 min 57 sec / 10.9 MB / 192kbps MP3
The “D+apostrophe” probably makes them cooler. And I have no idea how to speak French but I’m certain its grammatically incorrect, unless Z has a vowel sound, but I’ve never heard a Z pronounced with a vowel sound. Anyway, they weren’t that exciting, hence the 8 minute recording. I just thought it sounded like Coldplay or Train or something like that. But maybe you’re into that.

L’Alphalpha
25 min 9 sec / 34.5 MB / 192kbps MP3
According to Google Translate “l’alphalpha” means “the alphalpha”, but I don’t know what “alphalpha” means, maybe its a different way of spelling “alfalfa” that I wasn’t aware of. So maybe they are called “The Alfalfa” which is kind of cute. Anyway, L’alphalpha are made up of a whole lot of people – maybe 8 or 7 or 9, I forgot to count – and they play what I like to call the more happy style of post-rock. Kind of like if Khottal listened to more Sigur Ros. Maybe. It was good.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

