RRREC Fest #2 @ Taman Ismail Marzuki, Jakarta – 5/12/2011

Monday night was the last day of RRREC Fest, a three day festival held in various venues in Cikini, an area in Central Jakarta. There were actually three different gigs at three different venues on the night, all within walking distance from each other, but I ended up just hanging around Taman Ismail Marzuki. And although a lot of bands played, I only recorded two.

L’Alphalpha
21 min 24 sec / 29.3 MB / 192kbps MP3
And of the two bands I recorded, I recorded a band that I had already recorded a few days earlier. Not much was different from the first time I saw them. Of course, the venue was different, and the sound was a little different, but they played mostly the same songs in their same post-rock style.

Cambodian Space Project (Cambodia)
I didn’t record this band, but I feel that I should have. The band is from Cambodia, but only the singer, is actually Cambodian. There’s an Australian guy and I think the other two guys are French. They actually played really shitty old person rock n roll music but the singer had a pretty interesting voice and her energy made an otherwise boring band quite enjoyable. Apparently you can listen to a live recording of them on the ABC website.

Deerhoof (USA)
1 hr 6 min 31 sec / 91.3 MB / 192kbps MP3
I probably should have, but I’d never listened to Deerhoof before I saw them. I’d heard the name a few times, but I never really knew anything more than that. I don’t really know what to say about them, but they were pretty awesome. And as I began using different batteries at the last gig I was at, I was able to actually record the whole one hour set. Among all the Deerhoof songs, they also covered a Beck song (I think), during which the bass player played drums and the drummer played guitar and sang.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

