World Refugee Day Protest @ Town Hall – 24/6/2012

World Refugee Day was last weekend, and so there were two rallies to mark the occasion. I attended the Sunday rally. I arrived a little bit early, and just after I arrived a band started playing. So I recorded them.

Ember
12 min 23 sec / 17 MB / 192 kbps
Ember is a 3-piece band fronted by Mohsen Soltani, an Iranian refugee, who reads his poetry and plays an instrument whose name I do not know. Unfortunately, I missed the beginning of at least one song/poem. Also, while I was recording a group of Acehnese men gathered near me and started talking loudly, so as well as Ember and their music you can also listen to the sound of Acehnese men speaking Acehnese and English.

The Riff Raff Radical Marching Band were also in attendance playing their repertoire that ranges from Pokerface to Bella Ciao to Killing in the Name Of. But I did not record them.

For more information on refugee issues and actions check out Refugee Action Coalition Sydney.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

